Team Science Award – University of Copenhagen

19 April 2016

Team Science Award


A team of four researchers from Yale University and Novo Nordisk Foundation Center for Basic Metabolic Research have been awarded the 2016 Joint Team Science Award. In recognition of a 25-year effort to conduct clinical studies that have led to new insights into the pathogenesis of insulin resistance, which is the best predictor for the later development of type 2 diabetes.

The studies have led to insights into the pathogenesis and molecular mechanisms of type 2 diabetes, non alcoholic fatty liver disease (NAFLD), obesity and lipodystrophy. (Lipodystrophy is a condition in which fat cells are absent at birth or disappear early in adolescence).

The Joint Team Science Award, given by the Association for Clinical and Translational Science and the American Federation for Medical Research, was established to acknowledge the growing importance of interdisciplinary teams to translate research discoveries into clinical applications to achieve public health impact. The award was presented on April 15th 2016, at the association's annual meeting in Washington, D.C.

“The importance of this award is for us mostly, the recognition of our friendship and collaborative efforts through the years, which together have enabled us to develop hypothesis-driven clinical research studies and techniques to, as directly and simply as possible, understand the pathogenesis of the development of insulin resistance and type 2 diabetes in humans,” says Deputy Director Kitt Falk Petersen, Section of Metabolic Imaging and Liver Metabolism at the Novo Nordisk Foundation for Basic Metabolic Research.

The other recipients of the 2016 Joint Team Science Award are Professor Gerald I. Shulman, also from the Novo Nordisk Foundation for Basic Metabolic Research, Professor Douglas Rothman and Associate Professor Gary W. Cline from Yale University. “This honour certainly has led us to fully appreciate the value of such a close collaborative relationship in our common efforts to understand mechanism of disease, which ultimately is the underlying reason for a comprehensive approach to the development of novel treatment strategies,” adds Petersen.

Professor Kitt Falk Petersen was also awarded the 27th Annual Frank and Sheila Thompson Honor for medical education at the Scott and White Clinic, Texas A&M University. The awards ceremony and her honorary lectureship (‘The Road to Insulin Resistance and the Metabolic Syndrome’) was held on February 26, 2016.