Metabolic Research Association of Postdocs and Students (MAPS)

In November 2017, the Postdocs and leadership at Novo Nordisk Foundation Center for Basic Metabolic Research (CBMR) worked together to establish a peer-led network for CBMR’s early career scientists. The network provides a peer-to-peer communication platform and promote interdisciplinary collaboration between programs.

Purpose

MAPS offers a friendly and supportive environment for early career researchers to get to know each other and work together to improve our development as scientists in metabolic disease.

Aims

  • Integrate early career scientists through scientific interactions and social functions
  • Provide a communication platform
  • Promote collaboration to improve our individual and collective scientific work

Activities

We host monthly Scientific Seminars open for postdocs and students followed by a Social Networking Hour open to all employees at CBMR. Our seminars provide an opportunity for postdocs and students to share their scientific discoveries in an informal setting, while the social hour provides a chance for networking and informal discussions. This gives us the perfect opportunity to learn about each other’s work, present more powerfully, and develop a broader perspective on metabolism. We also organize career-development seminars and social events in addition to our recurring monthly events.

When: Second Friday of each month; Seminar: 15:00 – 16:00, Social: 16:00 – late

2022 meetings: 8/4, 6/5, 10/6, 12/8, 9/9, 14/10, 11/11 & 9/12

Where: 7.15.92 or Nielsine Nielsen Auditorium

Why join: Come find out what your peers are doing and be inspired! All CBMR members are welcome for the Social Networking events. 

Contact

Contact MAPS Co-Chairs: MAPS@sund.ku.dk

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/groups/838453336259119/

#CBMR, #MAPS

MAPS Representatives

The MAPS organizing board consists of 12 representatives from across the Center’s Programs. We organize the events and are happy to hear from you if you would like to get involved. 

Fabian Finger, Postdoc (fabian.finger@sund.ku.dk), Co-chair
Ben Stocks, Postdoc (ben.stocks@sund.ku.dk), Co-chair
Malene Christiansen, PhD Student (malene.christiansen@sund.ku.dk) Board member
Sarah Yvonnet, Postdoc (sarah.yvonnet@sund.ku.dk) Board member
Vaida Juozaityté, Postdoc (vaida@sund.ku.dk), Board member
Kristin Hussey, Postdoc (kristin.hussey@sund.ku.dk), Board member
Marina Agueda Oyarzabal, PhD Student (marina.agueda@sund.ku.dk), Board member
Jonathan Robert Belanich, Postdoc (jbelanich@sund.ku.dk), Board member
Augusto Peluso, Postdoc (augusto.peluso@sund.ku.dk), Board member
Simone Bossi, Postdoc (simone.bossi@sund.ku.dk), Board member
Virginia Díez Obrero, Postdoc (virginia.diez.obrero@sund.ku.dk), Board member
Kathrine Lundø Larsen, PhD student (kllarsen@sund.ku.dk), Board member