14 October 2021

Ruth Loos elected to the EASD Board of Directors


CBMR Vice Executive Director Professor Ruth Loos has been elected to the Board of Directors of the European Association for the Study of Diabetes (EASD)

A photo of Ruth Loos.

In April this year, Professor Ruth Loos left Mount Sinai School of Medicine in New York City to join CBMR and enter into its leadership as Vice Executive Director. Now she joins the Board of Directors of the European Association for the Study of Diabetes (EASD). The three year position runs from January 1, 2022 to December 31, 2025.

"I applied because becoming a board member would allow me to engage with the community of diabetes researchers across Europe," says Professor Ruth Loos.

At CBMR she hopes to identify what factors, genetic and non-genetic, makes some people more prone to becoming overweight or developing type 2 diabetes, and to use this information to improve treatment and prevention.

Professor Ruth Loos is also a former recipient of a visiting professorship from the Danish Diabetes Academy in 2016. DDA Chairman Allan Flyvbjerg was also elected to a three-year position on the EASD Board of Directors.

"I am very much looking forward to working with Allan Flyvbjerg and the other board members to provide EASD members with the best possible return of their membership; such as facilitating and supporting career development opportunities, develop new research programmes, and contribute to the planning of the annual meetings. All in all, I am very excited to be joining the EASD Board", says Professor Ruth Loos.